Case study

Secondhandbags AG

Case Study Secondhandbags AG shutterstock 766441960 scaled 1024x684 1
Case Study Secondhandbags AG g 1609716573074 cr

400% growth in 3 months

In December 2020, R17 took a stake in Secondhandbags AG as a shareholder and is also operationally in charge of performance marketing and web development. In the first month we were able to grow by 400% compared to the previous year.  

Management summary

In December 2020, R17 joined Secondhandbags AG as a shareholder and as a performance marketing and technology partner. Within a month we were able to set up a new shop - with a new CI / CD. At the same time, we were also very involved in the corporate strategy. 

On January 4th, 2021, the long-awaited go-live of Secondhandbags.ch. Already in the first month we were able to increase sales compared to the previous year 400% increase. One of the first great lessons learned in performance marketing was the long deliberation process from customers. The designer handbags are in the luxury segment and impulse purchases are rare. 

The consequence is that retargeting becomes even more important. It also requires many touchpoints (cross-platform), i.e. on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Google. We are currently achieving a return on ad spent across all paid media channels (ROAS) of over 10. We look forward to establishing the company as the market leader in Switzerland together with the managing director Emanuel Müller. 

Our area of responsibility

The following overview shows in which areas we are strategically and operationally active for Secondhandbags AG.

Online shop

Maintenance

Analyzes

Innovations

Facebook

Instagram

Google,

Youtube

Snapchat

TikTok

Pinterest

Email Marketing

Learnings

Marketing funnel / cross platform

The quick realization that retargeting in this business model does not require 30% of the ad spend, but rather 50-60%, was important. This learning enabled us to be profitable from day one. We also tested not only Facebook and Google, but also Pinterest and Snapchat advertisements right from the start. It shows that Pinterest in particular is very successful.

Email automations

With second-hand bags, each product is unique and is only sold once. Announcing new handbags via email automation is a key success factor for second-hand bags. We were also able to clearly segment customers very early on and thus increase the relevance of our e-mails. We have carried out the segmentation in particular on a designer basis (Louis Vuitton, Chanel, Hermès).

Shopping experience

We understood very quickly that the shopping experience, the filter options and the category pages are much more important than the product landing pages. We then launched an agile improvement process that constantly improves the shopping experience for customers.

Case Study

Secondhandbags AG

Online Marketing Secondhandbags
E-Commerce Marketing Online Shop

400% Wachstum in 3 Monaten

Im Dezember 2020 hat sich R17 an der Secondhandbags AG als Aktionärin beteiligt und leitet auch operativ das Performance Marketing und Web Development. Im ersten Monat konnten wir im Vorjahresvergleich um 400% wachsen.  

Management Summary

Im Dezember 2020 ist R17 bei der Secondhandbags AG als Aktionärin, sowie als Performance Marketing und Technologie Partner eingestiegen. Innerhalb von einem Monat konnten wir einen neuen Shop – mit neuem CI/CD – bereitstellen. Parallel waren wir auch sehr involviert in die Unternehmensstrategie. 

Am 04.01.2021 war dann der lang ersehnte Go-Live von Secondhandbags.ch. Bereits im ersten Monat konnten wir den Umsatz im Vorjahresvergleich um 400% steigern. Eines der ersten großen Learnings im Performance Marketing war der lange Überlegungsprozess von Kunden. Die Designer Handtaschen befinden sich im Luxussegment und Spontankäufe sind selten. 

Die Konsequenz ist, dass das Retargeting eine noch höhere Bedeutung bekommt. Ebenso benötigt es viele Touchpoints (Crossplattform), also auf Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest und Google. Aktuell erzielen wir über alle Paid-Media Kanäle einen Return-on-ad-spent (ROAS) von über 10. Wir freuen uns, zusammen mit dem Geschäftsführer Emanuel Müller, das Unternehmen zum Marktführer in der Schweiz zu etablieren. 

Unser Aufgabenbereich

Die folgende Übersicht zeigt in welchen Bereichen wir für die Secondhandbags AG strategisch und operativ aktiv sind.

Online-Shop

Maintenance

Analysen

Innovationen

Facebook

Instagram

Google

Youtube

Snapchat

TikTok

Pinterest

E-Mail Marketing

Learnings

Marketing Funnel / Crossplattform

Die schnelle Erkenntnis, dass Retargeting in diesem Business Modell nicht 30% des Adspends, sondern eher 50-60% benötigt, war wichtig. Dieses Learning ermöglichte uns die Profitabilität vom ersten Tag an. Ebenso haben wir von Beginn weg nicht nur Facebook und Google, sondern auch Pinterest und Snapchat Werbungen getestet. Dabei zeigt sich, dass insbesondere Pinterest sehr erfolgreich ist.

E-Mail Automationen

Bei Secondhandbags ist jedes Produkt unique und wird nur ein Mal verkauft. Die Bakanntmachung von neuen Handtaschen über E-Mail Automationen ist ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor für Secondhandbags. Ebenso konnten wir schon sehr früh eine klare Segmentierung von Kundinnen vornehmen und so die Relevanz unserer E-Mails erhöhen. Die Segmentierung haben wir insbesondere auf Designerbasis (Louis Vuitton, Chanel, Hermès) vorgenommen.

Shoppingerlebnis

Wir haben sehr schnell verstanden, dass das Shoppingerlebnis, die Filtermöglichkeiten und die Kategorieseiten deutlich wichtiger sind als die Produktlandingpages. Daraufhin haben wir einen agilen Verbesserungsprozess lanciert, der das Shoppingerlebnis für den Kunden konstant verbessert.